Home | Itinerary | Clean up Carstensz Base Camp | Testimony | Summit Pictures | Contact us | About us
Private Expedition | Join International Team | Helicopter Expedition | Carstensz New Route

Carstensz Pyramid Summiter

Meagan McGrath

Meagan McGrath has become the only Canadian female and the first Canadian Forces member to achieve both versions of the Seven Summits.

Meagan McGrath, a mountain climber from Sudbury, has become the only Canadian female, and the first Canadian Forces Member to achieve both versions of the Seven Summits.

“It does feel like I’ve done something,” said Meagan McGrath about her latest accomplishment, in a news release. “It took two trips to Indonesia to get it done, but it was all worth it in the end.”


After a five hour climb, Meagan summitted Indonesia’s Carstensz Pyramid at 8:10 am local time, on Jan. 6. She was forced to cancel an earlier attempt in December when a protest broke out in Irian Jaya, the town from which the expedition was set to begin. On December 27, 2007 she flew back to Indonesia to make her second attempt.

“Due to a last minute change from the tour operator I was required to ditch some of my gear before the helicopter could take off, “said Meagan. “I had started with 10 kilograms, which is not much by any standard. Getting rid of more gear required quick critical thinking, but I was assured there were tents and other necessary gear available at base camp.”

“As always, the staff at Science North are extremely proud of Meagan. Despite the setback in December, we were certain Meagan was going to achieve this goal and put herself in the history books once again, “ said Science North CEO, Jim Marchbank, in a news release. “We look forward to supporting her, and tracking the progress of her next adventure – the Marathon Des Sables in Spring 2008.”



Source : www.northernlife.ca


Summiter Carstensz
SINCE 1998

Antonio Garcia
Albert Bosch
Alison Levine
Ana Czerwinska
Andries Botha
Angelo Sousa
Anna Lichota
Benyamin Mazin
Bernard Voyer
Cao Jun
Carsten Pedersen
Charles Mace
Chiang, Hsiu-Chen
Christina Robles
Constantin Lacatusu
Daniel Theuerkauf
Daren Lindgren
David Larson
Dean Staples
Denise Fetjek
Dirk Stephen
Erick Weihenmayer
Eun On So
Felix Eduardo Sanchez
Francisco Briongos
Francois Bernard
Francois Langlois
Gary Parker
Geoffrey Robb
George Atkinson
Giuseppe Pompili
Hans Florine
Harry Kikstra
Helme Suuk
Henrik Kristiansen
Hiroyuki Kuraoka
Hsieh Yin Shu
Ignacio Amando
Igor Prinzyuk
Inna Lai
Ishikawa Tomiyasu
Ivar Lai
J F Paulsen
Jaan Reimand
Jaime Viñals
Jamie Clarke
Jason Huang
Jeffrey Warden
Jin Fei Bao
Joby Ogwyn
Joe Wolfgruber
John Crellin
John Dodelande
Jonathan Atkinson
Jose Maria Alvarez
José Mijares
Junichi Shinozaki
Kees 't Hooft
Khalid Altayer
Khoo Swee Chiow
Krzysztof Gardyna
Leszek Cichy
Liang Kun
Lu Zhonglin
Magdalena Kowalska
Marck Gunlogson
Mario Trimeri
Mark Sedon
Martin Adams
Martin Isak
Mayk Schega
Meagan McGrath
Michal Rafal Kowalski
Mikel Alvarez
Namit Rawat
Nikhu Ram Choudhary
Nikki Hoffman
Nikolaus Mangitsis
Olof Eric Sundstorm
Patricio Crausaz
Paul Fetjek
Paul Niels
Pedro Ruiz
Philippe Gatta
Phillip Pearson
Ramesh Chandra-Triphathi
Ramon Diz
Rauno Pukonen
Rick Keller
Rishi Sagar
Rob Hart
Robert Creswell
Robert Gutrhie
Robert Hart
Robert Huygh
Robert Scull
Rupert Heider
Samantha Larson
Sharon Crawford
Soeren Smidt
Takenori Yoshida
Timothy Bird
Toivo Sarmet
Troy Aupperle
Victor Saunders
Vlado Haluska
Wang Shi
Wim Smets
Wu Yu Lung
Yi Sung In
Young Mi Kim
Zed Al Refai

equipment | weather | history | west papua | access | permit | climb carstensz | contact us